FAVT – Future Africa Visions in Time


Arbeite mit Prof. Susan Arndt an unserem Teil der Ausstellung Future Africa Visions in Time (Vernissage in Bayreuth, 07.11.2015). Wird ein Spaß.

An exhibition project of the Bayreuth Academy of Advanced African Studies

The exhibition content derives from discursive collaborations between invited international artists and resident researchers within the Academy, resulting in innovative conceptual research that traverses aesthetic and scientific approaches.

Through intensive conversations, artworks and conceptual positions were developed that critically engage with, reflect on, interpret, imagine, intervene into, disturb, translate or anticipate the concepts of  the Academy’s current general theme “Future Africa: Visions in Time”. Since its inception, various artists and cultural producers have participated in and contributed to the work at the Bayreuth Academy as Fellows and guests. Together with the Bayreuth-based researchers, case studies and empirical results as well as conceptual insights were generated relating to thematics such as “hope”, “utopia”, “dystopia” and “prognosis” amongst others. Intersecting processual devices, such as “intervening”, “imagining” and “anticipating” have been developed.

The exhibition “FAVT: Future Africa Visions in Time” provides a discursive platform for the research output of the Bayreuth Academy, mutually engaging researchers, artists, the University of Bayreuth, and the general public. The exhibition includes photography, installations, soundscapes, projections, text and performance and will be accompanied by a series of publications and activations, such as guided tours and thematic talks.

Emeka Alams, Rui Assubuji, Sam Hopkins, Cédric Ido, Délio Jasse, Philipp Khabo Koepsell, Syowia Kyambi, Ingrid LaFleur, Kitso Lynn Lelliott, kara lynch, Kiluanji Kia Henda, Ato Malinda, Tumi Mogorosi, James Muriuki, Zohra Opoku, Abdi Osman, Simon Rittmeier, Ruth Sacks, Moses Serubiri, Paul D Miller aka DJ Spooky, Kae Sun, Fabio Vanin.

Erdmute Alber, Susan Arndt, Sybille Bauriedl, Ute Fendler, Katharina Fink, Michael Hauhs, Constantin Katsakioris, Kupakwashe Mtata, Dieter Neubert, Achim von Oppen, Peggy Piesche, Mariam Popal, Nadine Siegert, Florian Stoll, Annalisa Urbano, Ulf Vierke.

More Information